Media Release



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE March 20, 2025

RE: Cochrane High School Teacher Selected as RVS Edwin Parr Award Nominee

Each year, Rocky View Schools (RVS) is proud to nominate a first-year teacher for the Edwin Parr Teacher Award, sponsored by the Alberta School Boards Association (ASBA). This year's nominee is Cochrane High School Teacher, Conner Benson.

In his first year of teaching at Cochrane High School, Conner has quickly established himself as a remarkable educator and has become an integral part of the school's community. Working as the school's music director, he has led both instrumental music and choir and took an active role in this year's musical production.

As a fine arts teacher, he has formed positive connections with students, families and colleagues. Conner's leadership is marked by compassion, engagement, humour and grace. His welcoming manner creates a safe space for students to pursue their passions and his expertise has fostered their growth and success. Under his direction, students have excelled at various music festivals.

Conner's honest and constructive feedback motivates students to put in the effort for greater achievement. He has also been a valuable collaborator with the other staff in the Performing and Visual Arts team, helping to create a cohesive department. His dedication, professionalism and passion for music make him an outstanding teacher and a deserving nominee for the Edwin Parr Teacher Award.

"On behalf of the Board of Trustees, congratulations Conner on being selected as RVS' nominee for the Edwin Parr Teacher Award," said Board Chair, Fiona Gilbert. "The dedication and passion shown by first-year teachers builds a strong foundation for their careers and plays a crucial role in making our division a world-class learning organization where all students achieve their absolute best."

We also thank and recognize the other first-year teachers whose names were put forward for consideration:

- Aryaana Bhanji École Edwards Elementary School
- Dania Smith Cochrane Christian Academy
- Justin Pearce W.G. Murdoch School
- Marissa Giesinger R.J. Hawkey Elementary School
- Ruweena Hussain Northcott Prairie School

The Edwin Parr Teacher Award has annually recognized excellent first-year teachers across Alberta since 1964. Every year, teachers from ASBA member school boards across the province are nominated to receive the award. The Zone 5 celebration takes place on May 30, 2025. If Conner is selected as the Zone 5 winner, he will be recognized along with 10 other teachers at an ASBA meeting this fall.